Soon after, soy sauce was introduced to Southeast Asia and Korea. In any case, it is produced by pressing fermented soybeans. The flavor profile of soy sauce is salt-forward with a strong umami finish, and it is thin. This could be categorized as either light or regular soy sauce. Not all soy sauces are naturally gluten-free. To give their sauce a thicker mouthfeel and a little more flavor, many varieties include a small amount of wheat in it. Just be sure to look for those options if you are looking for gluten-free soy sauce. The information is usually right on the front of the bottle, but if you are unsure, you can check the nutrition facts.
When used in traditional ways, soy sauce has a strong salty flavor and adds a lot of flavor punch.
Due to its higher viscosity, dark soy sauce is regarded as a thick soy sauce. Soybeans that have been fermented are pressed to make regular soy sauce, and the fermented soybean residue is pressed to make dark soy sauce. The flavor profile changes as a result of the fermentation of these residual products with a saltier brine. The sweet undertones and milder salty base of dark soy sauce will be more pronounced. To intensify these sweet notes even more, some varieties also use palm or brown sugar.
While dark soy sauce is used to color food, light soy sauce is frequently used to season food. Other significant distinctions between dark soy sauce and regular soy sauce do exist, though.
Since fermented soybeans are pressed to create soy sauce, it is ground and mixed with seasonings. Regular soy sauce is released as this ferments. The longer fermentation of these leftover components results in the thicker, sweeter dark soy sauce.
Both types of soy sauce have an umami flavor, but regular soy sauce is heavier and has a stronger salty flavor. Due to fermentation, dark soy sauce is sweeter. There is not as much salt left over for the darker varieties because the initial sauce made from the mash uses up most of the salt.
Compared to regular soy sauce, dark soy sauce is significantly thicker. Common varieties are frequently used in stir-fries and added as a salty element to other sauces. Dark soy sauce is more frequently used as a glaze for meats and a dipping sauce for dumplings.
Soy sauce is NOT gluten-free, despite what the general public thinks. The good news is that gluten-free soy sauce is now easily found in regular grocery stores, with well-known brands like Kikkoman and Lee Kum Kee all carrying gluten-free soy sauces.
It is frequently used in braised or red-cooked dishes like Red Cooked Pork, or to achieve that enticing dark amber color in stir-fries like Beef and Broccoli or rice/noodle dishes.